top of page

My Japan Dream (夢) (The elements)

The intimate ballad unfolds harmoniously, synchronizing with the whims of the elements. The earth, represented by solid and stable landscapes, anchors us in a tangible reality, inviting us to contemplate the solidity and stability of the nature that surrounds us. Each shot seems to be an ode to the earth, a celebration of its raw and timeless beauty.

Then, the water pours into the artist's lens, capturing fleeting moments where fluidity meets light. The reflections in the water become mirrors of the soul, inviting contemplation of the depth and clarity that reside within us. Water, a symbol of movement and transformation, takes us on an emotional journey.

Fire, a passionate element, embodying passion and energy, is expressed through luminous bursts and warm lights. These captured moments evoke creativity and transformation. They remind us that life is a sacred fire, igniting our journey with vibrant and fiery moments.

The wind caresses the images, revealing lightness and grace. The moving landscapes transport us into an ethereal dance, a visual symphony where the wind becomes the conductor of nature. Each shot breathes life, seeming to capture the moment when the wind whispers secrets through the leaves of the trees.

Finally, the void, representing the fifth element, takes shape in the spaces between tangible elements. These moments of calm, of pause, become breaths in the ballad, inviting reflection and appreciation of silence. The void is not a lack, but rather an invitation to contemplation, to serenity.

This intimate walk through the Godai is experienced as a relaxing, soothing moment, an interlude of serenity, nature and beauty. Each photographic moment becomes a visual meditation, an echo of the harmony that resides in the relationship between man, nature and the universe. It is an artistic celebration of the diversity of elements that make up our world.


Godai (The 5 elements)


The Godai (or “Five Grands”) is the traditional Japanese set of five elements which are:

– the earth (“chi” or “tsuchi”),
– water (“sui” or “mizu”),
– fire (“ka”, “ho” or “hi”),
– the wind (“fu” or “kaze”)
– and the void (“ku”), associated with heaven or paradise.

Consciousness (“shiki”) is sometimes added as a sixth element.

In Japanese philosophy, there are actually two concepts regarding the Five Elements. One of them, Gogyo, is based on the Chinese concept of the five elements, known as Wuxing. These elements are wood, fire, earth, metal and water. They allow us to describe the natural cycles of the body and the world.

The Godai concept is associated with Buddhism. Its origins come from Hinduism. Godai is a compound word: Go meaning “five”, and Dai meaning “big”. Godai therefore means “the Great Five”, or more generally, the Five great elements or forces. In this model, the elements are the elementary building blocks of the universe. Everything that exists is governed by the balance of the Five Elements.

bottom of page